

Minutes of the Dean Democratic Club of Silicon Valley Organizational Meeting August 24, 2020

Next working meetings (by Zoom): September 28, October 26, November 23 **Next DFA Link program meeting** (by Zoom): December 14 (annual brainstorming for next year's goals)

Introductions: John Comiskey called the Zoom meeting to order at 7:05 p.m. Following that, each person introduced himself or herself and made a statement about recent political involvement.

Adoption of agenda: After one addition, Ralph Wheeler moved that we adopt the agenda, Gerry Hunt seconded it, and the motion passed with no dissension.

Approval of minutes: Amy Wright moved that we approve the July minutes, Carolyn Curtis seconded the motion, and it passed with no dissension.

Treasurer's report: Amy Wright reported that we have \$4337 in the bank: \$294 in the state and \$4043 in the federal account.

NEW BUSINESS

Candidate visits: The following candidates (or in three cases their representatives) each had one minute to address the club.

Sally Lieber, Mountain View City Council Meleah Robertson for Allie Hughes, Oakgrove School District seat 1 Greer Stone, Palo Alto City Council Jesse Ladomirak, Palo Alto Unified School District Omar Torres, San Jose Evergreen Community College District #7 Julia Miller, El Camino Healthcare District Kathy Jordan for Greg Tanaka, Palo Alto City Council Jennifer DiBrienza, Palo Alto Unified School District Ed Lauing, Palo Alto City Council Corina Herrera-Loera, Alum Rock Union School District Laura Blakely, Mountain View Whisman School District Karna Nisewane, Palo Alto Unified School District Laura Berman, Mountain View Whisman School District

Sergio Lopez, Campbell City Council Patrick Neschleba, Mountain View Whisman School District Thida Cornes for Pat Showalter, Mountain View City Council John Lashlee, Mountain View City Council Margaret Abe-Koga, mayor of Mountain View, Mountain View City Council Raven Malone, Palo Alto City Council Joseph Scott Heady-Perez, San Jose Evergreen Community College, Area 7 Meghan Fraley, El Camino Healthcare District Carol Ann Somersille, El Camino Healthcare District Tim Tom, Oak Grove School Board Larry Klein, mayor of Sunnyvale Alex Nunez, Mountain View City Council Julia Miller, El Camino Healthcare District Heidi Owens, Los Gatos Town Council Jane Lombard, El Camino Healthcare District Steven Lee, Palo Alto City Council Cari Templeton, Palo Alto City Council Pat Burt, Palo Alto City Council Lisa Matichak, Mountain View City Council

Candidate endorsement vote: John provided a list of endorsements the committee recommended on a screen share. He later provided the following link, which has now been updated:

https://ddcsv.info/endorsements/endorsements-by-date/

John asked if anyone wanted races to be pulled from the list. Thida Cornes asked to pull Mountain View City Council, and Karen Porter asked to pull Palo Alto City Council. Ralph Wheeler moved that we endorse the other candidates, Gerry Hunt seconded the motion, and it passed unanimously.

Mountain View City Council: Thida Cornes suggested that we vote separately on Margaret Abe-Koga. After considerable discussion, Emilie Gatfield moved that we endorse Sally Lieber and Pat Showalter; Gerry Hunt seconded the motion, and it passed unanimously. Emilie then moved that we endorse Lisa Matichak, Gerry seconded the motion, and it passed with 1 abstention. Emilie moved that we endorse Margaret Abe-Koga; Barbara Comiskey seconded the motion, which failed by 2 votes. In a final vote, Alex Nunez was endorsed with 8 yes and 4 no votes.

Palo Alto City Council: Emilie Gatfield moved that we endorse Pat Burt, Steven Lee, and Cari Templeton; Jackie Wheeler seconded the motion, and it passed with 13 yes votes and 1 no vote. Emilie then moved that we endorse Greg Tanaka, and Jackie seconded the motion, which failed by 3 votes.

Measure S: Mike Potter and Gary Kremen asked the club to endorse Measure S, the Safe, Clean Water and Natural Flood Protection parcel tax initiative on the November ballot. Carolyn Curtis asked about the process since normally we have a month's notice before an endorsement. Mary Gill brought up the fact that she received numerous emails from the Tuolomne River Trust and Sierra Club opposing the measure because there was no sunset clause (that is, the parcel tax has no cutoff date) and there were several other concerns. Karen Porter read an article from the Mercury News dated August 12, 2020 that indicated that several issues were resolved. Gary and Mike noted that Save the Bay and the League of Conservation Voters support the measure and that there is only one person in opposition on the ballot information. The endorsement passed by a vote of 6 yes votes to 3 no votes with several abstentions.

Ballot proposition vote: John noted that on August 10 club members had made reports by Zoom on the propositions on the November ballot. He had sent out a result of the straw poll done at that meeting:

Proposition 14 Stem cell research bond yes
Proposition 15 Split roll property tax – yes
Proposition 16 Reinstate affirmative action – yes
Proposition 17 Grant parolees voting rights – yes
Proposition 18 17-year-old voting age yes
Proposition 19 Property tax transfers – no
Proposition 20 Stricter sentencing and parole laws- no
Proposition 21 Rent control expansion yes
Proposition 22 Employee classification – no
Proposition 23 Increased dialysis clinic regulations – no
Proposition 24 Bolster consumer privacy laws – no
Proposition 25 Ban cash bail yes

Alice Smith moved that we follow the straw poll results to support or oppose these propositions, Carolyn Curtis seconded the motion, and it passed with 21 yes votes, 0 no votes, and 0 abstentions.

OLD BUSINESS

Club membership: John reported that there were 10 new members this month.

There were no other reports or announcements for lack of time.

Adjournment: At 9:15 p.m. Emilie moved that we adjourn the meeting, Jackie Wheeler seconded the motion, and the meeting was adjourned.

Minutes submitted by Mary Gill